FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF NEW YORK

[Circular No. 4088] March 19, 1954]

BUFFALO BRANCH TERRITORY ENLARGED

To all Banks and Trust Companies in the Second Federal Reserve District:

Effective April 1, 1954, the counties of Ontario, Steuben, Wayne and Yates in the State of New York, which now constitute part of the territory served by the Head Office of this Bank, will be assigned to the territory served by our Buffalo Branch.

This action to enlarge the Branch territory, the first change since the Buffalo Branch was established in 1919, was taken after consultation with the banks in the four counties involved. The change is designed to afford the member banks in those counties readier access to their reserve banking facilities and, at the same time, to enable this Bank to render more effective and efficient service to them. The enlargement of the Branch territory recognizes present-day patterns of economic activity in Western New York, and will make the territory coextensive with the Eighth and Ninth Banking Districts of the State of New York.

On and after April 1, 1954, references to the territories served by the Head Office and by the Buffalo Branch, contained in outstanding circulars of the Bank, shall be taken to refer to the changed territories; Operating Circulars Nos. 5 and 6 will be revised shortly and will reflect the change in the territories.

Additional copies of this circular will be furnished upon request.

ALLAN SPROUL, President.